In many countries the consumption of fast food has increased dramatically in recent years. What has caused this increase? What effect might it have on individual and society?

Junk food is becoming significantly more popular in recent years out of which, this is a major issue in an ample nation. This essay will intend to analyze the reasons behind this along with its positive and negative effects.

To embark upon, there are multifarious reasons behind ingestion of fast food. Firstly, junk food offers variety of flavors and presentation. It not only helps individuals to taste it but also helps them to avoid mundane taste of food. Secondly, consumption of junk food helps nation’s economic growth. Due to this, individuals know more about other cuisines and other country’s culture. Apart from this, individual’s life is getting hectic day by day. Consequently, individuals tend to depend on ready-to-eat or processed food.

On the flip side, intake of processed food has various positive as well as negative effects. Predominantly, consumption of junk food has detrimental effects on individuals. It causes higher risk of lifestyle diseases such as obesity, feeling lethargic, and lack of malnutrition. As a result, it reduces productivity, physical and mental fitness of individuals. Besides this, it has favourable effect also. If individuals surge the intake of fast food,it enhances growth of food and agriculture sector, which enables the trade of spices. Moreover, it has unfavorable effects on society. it directly impacts on environment, which leads to more food production, there will be more waste and emissions.

To conclude, I restate that undoubtedly, ingestion of fast food surge due to tasting of variety of flavors by individuals. However, it causes health issues such as reduced productivity and obesity as well as negative impact on environment, leads to more waste and emissions.