In many countries, the most common solution for criminal behaviour is prison but many believe that a better education is more effective. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, there are conflicting views regarding crime prevention. Although some consider prison to be the optimal solution, I contend that education is a more productive way.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many individuals are inclined to incarceration. Firstly, prison sentences can retrain criminals in one place and keep them under control. Without confinement, heinous crimes would be carried out uncontrollably, wrecking havoc on communities. Secondly, prison can send a threatening message to the general public about violating the law. By doing this, they can be deterred from committing crimes, especially adolescents.

On the other hand, a well-developed education system can play a role in long-term crime prevention. This is because advanced education addresses the root causes of criminality, which is a negative mindset. A good example of this would be Singapore, It boasts a high level of security which reflects the low crime rate there because its citizens are informed of the severe penalties for committing the most minor offense. With proper education, children can be taught to tell right from wrong, thus decreasing the possibility of incriminating activities in the future. Which, unlike imprisonment, is a short-term solution that does not guarantee released convicts to re-offend.

To conclude, while the prison system does has its own benefits, education is able to eliminate the origin of criminality.