In many countries, the proportion of older people in the population is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend for society?

Nowadays, the population of elderly is rising in most countries. While some people think this can cause problems, I strongly agree with those who consider older people can bring more benefits to their neighborhoods.

To begin with, some people believe that the elderly can cause several issues in their society such as being noisy. It is apparent that as people get older, their bodies and organs cannot work well, especially their hearing ability. In that way, they tend to speak in a loud sound as they think that the people who talk to them cannot hear their voice. This phenomenon can lead to a noise in their surroundings.

On the other hand, there are two major advantages that older people can contribute to their communities. The first is wisdom. When people get older, their knowledge and experience are predominantly constructed and shape the way they are thinking. A good illustration of this is that when older people get questions from young people, they can provide their answers in many different perspectives, which can help youngsters by any means. Another merit is entertainment. It often occurs that elderly have a tendency to act childish. This is because people’s emotion and mental state have achieved the highest level of its cycle; as a result, this can make older people act or think like a baby, which could be entertaining for the people around them.

In conclusion, although some people think that elderly people can be annoying in their society, I personally believe that older people’s presence can be far more beneficial such as wisdom and entertainment. It is clearly important to consider that the growth of older people can be a measure of a healthy society.