In many countries, the tradition of family meals is disappearing. Some people think this is a positive development, while others believe it has negative effects on families and society. Do you agree or disagree?

Family traditions play curious roles in forming society. Now a days, the culture of family meals is dying. While some argue it has a negative effect on families and society. I strongly agree with the view, as dismissing family dining has an adverse effect on the community.

Firstly, family dinner promotes unity in a household. A family dinner is considered as a way of sitting together and sharing words. In today’s fast-moving world where everyone is working at a 9 to 5 job. Families usually don’t get time to see each other or share their words with each other so meals are calculated as a way for the family to get together. For instance, many households hold weekend dinners to see each other and share words.

Secondly, family mealtimes assist in staying connected with roots and cultures. The young generation is forgetting about their originality including cultures, customs, and traditions and the main reason for this is that they lose touch with their elders. Family dinner encourages love and respect between the family. For example, in many Asian families there is tradition of having a dinner together with whole family therefore, Asian people are most connected with their roots and have a great knowledge about their family history.

However, in today’s era where everyone is busy doing their thing it is very difficult for some people to make it up to family dines. Moreover, there is generation gap between the family members which Leds to the conflict between the thinking process and decision-making power for this reason many households avoid sitting together.

In conclusion, I fully agree with the fact that family meals should be held. It promotes unity with the members, respect towards elders and staying in touch with roots. I consider the demising of family meals as a negative development for society.