In many countries, the use of single-use plastics has created severe environmental degradation. What are the reasons for this reliance on disposable plastics and what steps can be taken to reduce their usage?

In the modern world, the environment is hugely challenged by the utilization of materials such as plastic, which are difficult to recycle. This essay will discuss the various reasons why people are overly relying on plastic, and the steps need to be taken by individuals and governments to reduce plastic waste.

There are some notable reasons why people prefer the use of non-biodegradable materials. Firstly, the convenience of such materials are the prime reason of their widespread utilization. As it offers ease, people use plastic in various forms such as, polythene bags to carry stuff, restaurants use them for storing food, and even the plastic containers are used in households to server multiple purposes. Secondly, the single-use plastic products are readily available, hence a large proportion of people employ them to fulfill different requirements. The instant availability of an item always results in its widespread adoption and excessive utilization.

Recognising that such materials are widely used by individuals in their daily routines, several steps can be taken by individuals and on government level to reduce its waste. In many countries, governments are limting its availability by banning the use of plastic and heavy fines are being imposed on violations. For example, in UK, the grocery outlets have removed the polythene bags from their stores as heavy fines were charged to stores selling them. Furthermore, on individual level, the plastic waste can be taken care of by dumping the used plactic materials carefully. This can be achieved by transporting the waste produced on daily basis to proper recycling plants.

In conclusion, although the trend of using the disposable plastic has its own advantages such as convenience and availability, the downsides of it cannot be overlooked. If the authorities were to prevent environment from further damage, careful measures should be taken by governments and people in personal capacity to limit the production of waste materials.