In many countries, there is a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving longer prison sentences to criminals?

Across the globe, the resulting efficiency of extended prison sentences to mitigate crimes is discussed. Just like every coin has two sides, longer prison sentences, can have positive as well as negative impacts.

Speaking of advantages, longer prison sentences can ensure longer captivity of previous offenders. Inarguably, this will make society safer and harmonious. Moreover, a longer sentence can instill fear among potential criminals. This fear can in turn deter a majority of future offenders from committing crimes. Almost all the criminals locked up in jail have committed crimes consciously and deliberately. Therefore, a harsher punishment can make them face the consequences of their actions.This can serve justice to the victim. There is sufficient empirical evidence suggesting that countries that have strict laws and longer punishments generally have lower crime rates.

However, this development can also have certain drawbacks. We frequently state- ‘everyone deserves a second chance’. There could be an interplay of many complex factors which can lead a person to commit a crime. A longer sentence would strip out that person’s second chance at life. Criminals are humans too. With appropriate counseling and guidance, convicts can improve themselves and might also end up contributing positively to society.For instance, counseling is offered to first-time offenders in some European countries. These countries have been successful in rehabilitation of such criminals and have achieved reduced crime drastically. On the contrary, a longer sentence might result in many criminals fleeing from the crime spot.

In conclusion, despite its pros, longer prison time has its share of cons. The severity of punishment should depend on the intensity of the crime as all offenders are different, their circumstances are different, and above all their motivations are different.