As artificial intelligence and automation increasingly perform complex tasks in the workplace, some people argue that a traditional university education will soon become unnecessary for most career paths.

Artificial intelligence is increasingly employed to automate and handle incredibly complicated tasks in the workplace. This leads many people to believe that a traditional university education will soon become obsolete for the majority of career paths. I strongly disagree with this belief, and that university education will not be redundant in the near future.

Admittedly, it is reasonable to think that AI can heavily influence the traditional education approach for most career paths. With the rapid advance of AI in recent years, computers can now tackle challenging problems, automate difficult engineering tasks, and perform layered reasoning. Graduates in many prominent majors such as Computer Science, Data Science, Math, or related majors are facing a dire future, having to compete with both peers and front-tier AI models in an extremely saturated market. The employment rate for fresh graduates in those majors has noticeably plummeted in recent years. Consequently, people now believe the entire traditional university system is outdated.

While this belief is pragmatic and largely accurate for majors that require math or deep analytical thinking, numerous career paths still strongly favor a traditional approach. Education, or career paths that require humanitarian aspects are heavily dependent on a traditional, well-established education model. In Education, especially education for children or adolescents, teachers must possess the necessary skills and traits to impart knowledge and experience to their students. The traditional education system has successfully equipped them with the proper tools and mindset for decades, and the system will not be unnecessary in the near future. Careers that involve human aspects or emphasizes emotions, such as psychology, therapy, and crimology, must rely on the well-established, documented psychological and biological aspects of human. The traditional university education has already extensively structured and studied those aspects for centuries, making them nearly irreplacable for careers that center on human.

In conclusion, AI is rapidly revolutionizing the education landscape, and that universities will have to adapt to this growing technology, I believe that a traditional education will still be crucial for various career trajectories.