In many countries, there is a debate about the effectiveness of using longer prison sentences to combat crime. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving longer prison sentences to criminals?

There is an ongoing debate and the effectiveness of the usage of longer prison sentences to tackle crimes in many countries. There are various factors to be considered while deciding which stately is more effective.

There are several advantages to giving longer sentences to criminals, with the most important one being the reduction in crime rates. Crime rates could drastically decrease, because there a lot of fear instilled in individuals due to strong consequences of committing a crime. It enables the public experience a sense of safety. Furthermore, helps combat the issue of repeat offenders, because some criminals tend to commit crimes again, after the termination of their prison sentences. Moreover, it brings justice to victims and their families who had been subjected to henious crimes.

There are many disadvantages in contrast. It puts immense pressure on the government and authorities for maintainance and funding of prisons. Moreover funding can be used for other important things such as education, which enables a person to take right decisions and prevent the formation of a criminal mindset. Another issue is the overcrowding of prisons in some countries, which is a hindrance to the process of rehabilitation. It could increase crime rates in families where the provider is in prison and family undergoes poverty, this creates cycles of crimes.

In conclusion, the advantages seem to outweigh the disadvantages, because sentences are necessary for crimes. However, it is necessary to ensure the process of change in criminal behaviour, which is more necessary than the length of the sentence. Possible solutions to this are to provide adequate education ,ensuring that mentally ill individuals get professional help and rehabilitation.