In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their friends and their families. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the nowadays dynamic job market, it is getting more common for people to relocate to a new place in order to secure employment, which results in the separation from their loved ones. While many think that this trend costs individuals emotionally and financially, I believe that the advantage of potential earnings and better job opportunities could overshadow the difficulties.

Although moving to a new area to start a new career may sound intriguing at first, one must consider the underlying disadvantages. Firstly, in order to pursue a well-earned career, individuals would be forced to put aside their current relationships with friends, families, and even their spouses, leading to feelings of home-sickness, isolation, and loneliness. Secondly, the costs associated with moving, such as the relocation expenses and the high cost of living in some particular areas, can be unbearable. For example, the living standard in large cosmopolitans around the world is substantially greater than that of small towns or villages, which is somewhat challenging for those who want to seek a profession in big cities.

However, saying so does not mean job-seekers’ efforts to move to other places are futile but rather rewarding. Professionally, relocation often opens up a realm of opportunities to more diverse and higher-quality job prospects not available in one’s hometown. As a demonstration, many graduated students in Vietnam choose more tech-centric cities like Ho Chi Minh city or Hanoi where their career trajectory is dramatically accelerated in the technology field, offering innovative projects and networks that are crucial for growth. Personally, working in such environment can cultivate resilience, adaptability and gain a broader perspective on life. Living in a diverse setting enriches one’s understanding and appreciation of different ways of life, fostering a more inclusive and adaptable worldview.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the financial and mental cost of relocating for work are significant, I firmly believe that the positive aspects, such as the abundance of job possibilities and personal growth totally outweighed the downsides.