In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays living alone or in small family crew is more desirable for many city-dwellers in big center. Hence, there is disagreement over whether or not the tendency is beneficial. From my standpoint, I believe that it is a negative trend though the contrary pattern brings some fundamental advantages.

To begin with, we cannot deny that living in a small family brings citizens some extraordinary advantages. Firstly, it allows them to pursue their personal interests and life passions. Being a part of a small family gives them greater independence to achieve their own goals without spending too much time caring for other family members. Secondly, citizens do not have to be concerned about worry about family responsibilities. In other words, they may have more opportunities to take care of themselves because they do not have to cope with such things that come with living in large family.

On the other hand, being involved in extended family groups gives more overwhelming benefits. First of all, a large family will build strong family bonds. Living in an extended family naturally encourages members to spend their leisure time together and observe each other’s daily life. Moreover, it is obvious that citizens will find it simpler to look after other members when living in multigenerational families. More and more elderly people tend to be live alone, it means they face numerous difficult circumstances on a daily basis. As a result, they require support from other family members.

In conclusion, although the condition brings many upsides for citizens when living in a small family or alone namely: pursuing their desire and ignoring domestic duties, it seems that those points can be resolved by the downsides it brings and also the positives when living in a large family.