In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is believed that nowadays many people in large cities are interested in living alone or in small family units instead of living in large and extended family groups. This essay will discuss this view and personally I think this trend brings both advantages and drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many people in big cities prefer to live alone or in small family units. Firstly, living alone or in small family units can be a great way for them to develop their ability to be independent which is necessary in their life. When people live alone or in a small family, they can have more opportunities to make crucial decisions and do something that they want without relying on others. By this way, their independence will be improved and people with a high level of independence tend to gain the trust of others and are more likely to achieve success in their careers. Moreover, living alone or in small family units can help them reduce stress and live more harmoniously with others. This is because with low members in a family, there will be a good condition to minimize conflicts among family members, which easily occur when living in a multigenerational family.

On the other hand, living in small family units or alone instead of living in a big and extended family can also provide some disadvantages for people. Firstly, living in a small family may negatively affect the development of each individual in the family, especially children. For example, there are many parents who spend most of their day working, so they do not have much time to pay attention to or talk with their children, which can affect the bond between children and their parents, as well as impact the children’s personalities. Furthermore, people who want to live alone will have to face financial pressure, which can affect their mood. When living alone, they have to cover living expenses such as rent, electricity, water, and additional costs, which can become a concern for those with a moderate income.

In conclusion, choosing to live alone or in small family units instead of living in a multigenerational family provides both merits and drawbacks. Therefore, I think it is essential for people in big cities to consider both the disadvantages and advantages before making a decision on how to live.