In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age from work outweigh the disadvantages?

In the current day, the age when people can retire from employment has been increased. This situation exists both benifits and drawbacks which has several significant effects on society and the quality of human life. From my point of view, the advantages account for majority compared to disadvantages. In this essay, i am going to evaluate both sides of topic.

Although there is no denying that the increase in the retirement age from work has several benifits to individuals, this point also has disadvantages. Firstly, the mental health of old workers are agressively impact due to the working.the elder employees who have limited health and streng which can not be compared to the young workforce will be stressed out and unconfident. For examples, the employees’s workload and the volume of work are in a such great companies’s demands and most the companies only focus on youthful workforce who have better physical health to deal with heavy work than the old one so having feeling of unimportant of aged workers is unavoidable because they can not catch up to the youngers. Secondly, the elderly labor pool who have been spending more than a half part of their life to work, therefore, raising retirement age that means they have to spend more time with working instead of enjoying life and trying new things which they have not ever tried in thier life. Having been working in such a long time even when they are old makes them feel notably exhaused and bored of life which has an awful influence on their thought and mental health, they tend to hate this stressful life and just want to escape from it thus they always live in fear.

On the other hand, there are several benefits brought from increasing the retirement age. The growth of ecnomy is one of the noticeable advantages, aged people still can contribute to the economy by working which also decrease the financial burden on the young workforce’s shoulders. The youthful workers do not have to work hard to accumulate enough money for taking care and affording the living costs of elderly because the aged people still has a stable income. This point has significantly postive effects on world’s economy and development. Subsequently, being unemployment will not be a fear to retired people because of by raising the retirement age, workers will have more time to contribute to social insurance, which will increase their pensions and improve their quality of life in old age. An increase in the retirement age will also allow workers to receive higher pensions, therefore they are still able afford thier living expense and enjoy life.

In conclusion, although the raising the retirement age of workers has both positive and negative effects, the advanatge side noticeably oughtweight the drawback side . And i still believe that increasing retirement age brings more benefits to the current world.