In many countries, traditional food is being replaced by international fast food. Why is this happening, and is it a positive or negative trend?

Many nations across the globe are experiencing a notable increment in consumption of fast-food as compared to homemade food. This could be an output of several factor. I believe that this is indeed a negative development. The reasons for opting this as a negative development with tangible examples are discussed in the following paragraphs.

There are ample of factors responsible for the increasing demand of packed foods. To begin with, the taste and fragrance of outside foods followed by the art of serving have attracted the people towards fast-food. The hectic work schedule of the corporate workers force them to neglect homemade food due to lack of time to cook it. The busy individuals prefer to buy food from a cafe or restaurant rather than spending hours on strenuous task of preparing something which would not take even 5 minutes to eat. This may be time saving but it is acts as a slow poison for a human body and makes a habit to crave for it daily. Nowadays, it is observed that international food brands are using social media to maximize their reach to the consumers. They display eye catching visuals of the product which creates an impact on every mind and generates a sudden crave to grab that product. The value of the traditional food which contains the love of a mother’s hand are now being replaced by burger, pizza and much more.

The influence of overseas market on other countries have led in rapid demand of food items made of health hazardous substances. The dish which tastes and smells good is not necessarily healthy. The inclusion of palm oil and flours containing high volume of gluten such as all purpose flours in almost every dish made, is injurious to health. These products act as a substitute to other products which tastes good and are healthy as well. These are cheaper as compared to the healthy once therefore the shopkeepers prefer to use such items to increase their sale and spend less on the raw materials. Due to high consumption of such items, a huge impact is noted on an individual’s health. According to a survey conducted by the World Health Organization last year, the increase in consumption of fast foods have led to around 50 percent growth in health related disease such as food poisoning, which itself displays that this influence is a negative development.

To sum up, rigid work schedules may force an individual to consume ready made food, but one should always look up for the pros and cons of each product. The item which feels tasty to you can cause a huge impact on your health. Everyone must prefer food made at home which is healthy and also has the love and feeling of the one who made it.