In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first months after the birth of their baby. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently most companies have allowed pregnant women to have days off after the birth of their babies. What I believe is that the benefits of this action are outweighed by its drawbacks.

The primary benefit of maternity leave is the health and well-being of women. After childbirth, they will have a weak and fragile body and they need to recover. Forcing them to work as usual will not only lead to the illness but also reduce their working motivation and efficiency. Besides, new mothers need time to care for their babies. It will be hard for them to tend the children if they have to work away from home, especially, since not all the families can have available support to do this.

When it comes to the downsides, one month of leaving can lead to obstacles to career advancement. Women on leave may miss opportunities for gaining experience and advancing their careers as they are absent from the workplace. Also, in some companies that do not offer paid leave, maternity leave can also impose a financial burden on women when tending their children, especially for those who have just begun their careers and do not have alternative source of income. However, governments can enact legislative protections for women in lactation to ensure their professional rights and mitigate the impact on their career progression.

To conclude, while the maternity leave has its pros and cons, I believe the advantages are more significant. Although the policy may cause potential problems,such as career promotion, it is the health of female workers that matters more. Companies should abide by legislation to reserve career development opportunities, ensuring that maternity leave supports both the personal and professional lives of women.