In many countries,primary and secondary schools close for two month or more in the summer holidays.what this the value of long school holidays ?what are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

Primary and secondary schools are closed at least two months during summer breaks in several countries. While this development is necessary for many students, there are still some potential drawbacks.

Long school breaks are often considered essential for pupils as they offer several benefits. One of the major factors is that long holidays encourage students to engage in more leisure activities after a busy school year. They may have more opportunities to attend parties with friends or spend quality time with dedicated ones, allowing them to unwind and recharge their batteries. Moreover, having longer summer breaks is a great chance to immerse themselves in extracurriculars and learn new skills. By enrolling in outdoors activities, children are capable of widening their social circles, acquiring new knowledge, and most significant, possessing new sets of skills that are essential in the long run. For instance, plenty of teenagers tend to take part in Scouts during summer since this community is renowned for its friendly environment and ability to foster life skills, giving participants full awareness of emergency cases in daily life.

However, there are numerous arguments poiting out that long school holidays are not as advantageous as shorter ones. Initially, long summer breaks may potentially make children forget what they studied during school year, as they tend to spend more time taking part in leisure activities. Furthermore, pupils may find it difficult and pressing getting back on track after no revision of what they acquired for over two months. This situation creates obstacles for students and reduces their concentration levels, leading to poor performance at school.

In conclusion, while many individuals argue that short school breaks are better for students, I strongly believe that all the benefits of this development are more significant.