In many developing countries, there is a problem of declining quality of air and water. What are the causes of this and what measures could be taken to prevent this?

Today, in a large number of countries with growing economies more people are often seen in the news conducting demonstrations to protest the government about the lowering quality of air and water, the very basic human rights, as a result of the growing number of manufactures and infrastructure construction. This article discusses some major causes as well as the simple, yet meaningful solutions to the aforementioned issues.

In some reports, people often fight for their rights as the government fails to analyse the long-term environmental effects of factory establishment surrounding the neighborhood. For example, not so far from my home, a four-hectare drug factory has just shown its pollution as their waste pollutes the main river watering our crops. This catastrophe has led to our first harvest failure in history. I think, this issue could long be tackled if the government could provide in-depth analysis and collaborate with environmental experts, so that they could carefully consider if the factory could be granted permission.

Moreover, the fact that government never involves local community to hear their voices is another prevalent issue. Many people often express their deep regret to the government as their voices are never counted in deciding whether or not any unused areas could be used for industry or construction purposes. In my humble opinion, conducting survey or public hearing to invite local people in the decision-making, for instance, is a mandatory thing to take place before granting permission for construction builders or factories. This is crucial to ensure that all the decisions are well understood by all stakeholders, including local community.

To sum up, all the issues with air polution are rooted from the government’s failure to analyse the unforeseen effect and unwillingness to involve local community in the decision-making. Therefore, to solve this issue, I think the government should take a serious consideration to predict the environmental effect possible to occur in the future and invite the voices of the local community to decide whether or not they agree to grant permission for the industry and construction.