In many modern societies, there is a growing sense of social isolation and loneliness despite being more digitally connected than ever before. In many modern societies, there is a growing sense of social isolation and loneliness despite being more digitally connected than ever before. What causes this paradox, and what steps can be taken to rebuild community cohesion?

In contemporary society, social isolation experiencing an upward trend, with more people becoming isolated from their local communities choosing only digital connection. This essay will examine what are the main motives of this growing trend, also analyzing what can be done to strengthen sense of community.

Regarding causes of isolation from local communities, digital addiction could be one of the them. Nowadays, people tend to use smart-phones or other gadgets everywhere, thus they sometimes forget what real world actually is. For instance, when driving, navigator is the main assistant, so people no more have justifications to start conversation in car. Additionally, countries like China now developing new robot-taxis that will transport you to your destination without the need for humans. Thus, people have less conversation and less communication than before. Another cause might be stress and anxiety level, especially in these days when people procrastinate way often than before. Because of these negative feelings, people feel uncomfortable to interactive with other people. This is because of the fear to hurt their feelings. Recent survey in the UK proves this theory. In this survey, taken in particular workplace, 60 individuals were asked about their past experience when isolation felt right. 67% answered that depression, stress, and anxiety was the main situation when people wanted to isolate themselves from others.

There are several solutions that can be done to support local communities. But the most efficient way is the addition of national holidays, meetings and other interactive social conferences that will not include any digital gadgets. In this way, people discuss or conversate more often than now, thereby, sense of community will be strengthen considerably.

In conclusion, main motives for the social isolation are digital addiction and stress or anxiety levels, which, in turn, can be mitigated by the additional national holidays or other gadget-free interactive social conferences.