Crime rates are likely to decrease as advancements in technology make it easier to prevent and solve crimes. Agree or disagree

It is believed that technological innovations will help to make crime prevention and investigation more uncomplicated, as such crime rates are expected to decline. I largely agree with this view because prevention can reduce the premeditated crimes, although technologies have limited influence on solving crimes driven by emotion.

On the one hand, technological deployments could prevent premeditated crimes. This is owing to the fact that those innovations provide real-time situational awareness. Furthermore, after offenders would see that law enforcement agencies easily identify other criminals they tend to plan and behave carefully. For instance, to prevent crimes we could leverage networked video surveillance, drones, advanced artificial intelligence platforms, and gunshot detection systems. Hence, law enforcement could foresee, eliminate premeditated crimes, and apprehend perpetrators by using cutting-edge technologies.

On the other hand, cutting-edge tools cannot fully influence impulsive crimes. This is on the grounds that most of these crimes are committed without planning and considering consequences, so the technologies will not deter offenders from sudden violence or theft. For example, an argument between friends or family that came to a fight, sudden property damage, and something like these crimes which are triggered by intense emotions like anger, fear, jealousy, or sadness. Therefore, the effect of technologies on impulsive or emotionally-charged crimes will likely be more limited.

In conclusion, while technological advancements could ensure prevention of deliberate criminal activity, their effect on crimes of passion are insignificant.