Crime rates are likely to decrease as advancements in technology make it easier to prevent and solve crimes. Agree or disagree

One school of thought holds that advanced technology is capable of mitigating the number of lawbreakers. Admittedly, those who do not regard technology development as an ideal factor to reduce crime rates have valid grounds, particularly in terms of cybercrime. However, in this essay, I firmly believe that using technology potentially has its own benefits in deterring criminal behaviors effectively.

First and foremost, the compelling reason why high-tech solutions are only partially convincing due to facilitating cybercrimes. In specific, even advanced technological systems can suffer high risks of being hacked, which offenders easily adopt new ways to disrupt or destroy. For example, major digital media platforms such as Facebook and Youtube, have their own security and privacy walls that can be easily damaged through sophisticated hacking attacks of highly skilled hackers, leading to personal information lost. Therefore, not only do digital tools pose a threat to lose users’ personal information, but this approach also facilitates phishing behaviors on cyberspace. Secondly, technological advancements are only effective to a limited extent, as it does not fully address the deep root causes of crime. For instance, some people who suffer from poverty and famine for a long time eventually have to steal food to maintain their daily lives, an underlying circumstance that technology may not tackle.

However, it is conspicuous that technology development potentially detects illegal behaviors and violators more effectively. The presence of surveillance systems everywhere can contribute positively to crime investigation through facial recognition. In other words, when cameras are installed throughout the area, it tends to trigger a strong sense of terror, reducing criminal intent. Additionally, some tracking systems offer faster relocation of stolen property. Take GPS as an example, this tracking tool can help the police locate stolen vehicles, smartphones and other valuable possessions. As a result, criminals have greater difficulty in profiting instantly from theft, discouraging property-related crimes.

In conclusion, although technology still cannot prevent offenders completely due to other underlying social issues, its positive influences in curbing potential lawbreakers can be recognised and improved over the next few years.