In many modern societies, there is a growing trend of 'digital isolation,' where people feel more lonely despite being constantly connected via social media. What problems does this cause for mental health and how can individuals and governments address this issue?

It is an extremely alarming problem of a modern world – an enormous rise of people loneliness epidemic. Which makes scientists all around the world wonder – why so?

One may say, that thanks to modern technologies people connect more. We are constantly online, watching Reels and YouTube videos, typing comments, replying to our friends, colleagues and relatives. Oh, look! Another AI-generated video of a clumsy cat, sent by your grandma. But when our online-presence increases, our time spent offline decreases significantly.

There is another issue caused by the rise of technology and artificial intelligence: we do not need a real human being to communicate with anymore. Chat GPT can replace your psycologist, consultant, and eventually your friend. Even a girlfriend or a boyfriend, appealing assistants would gladly chat with a user without any policy restrictions. Just pay for the subscription.

Another interesting angle to look at this issue – people consume so much red-pill content, that they start hating each other. The resent study shows: our society is experiencing a male loneliness epidemic. Women refuse to marry and give birth. Man and women watch tons of videos promoting misogyny and misandry. This content fuels hatred, and that makes our world a worse place.

What we really need in an era of new technologies is real human connection. Social isolation is a major problem, and to fight that, we need to put more efforts to connect people in real time again. New laws restricting teenagers from using social networks and AI could be the first step. And, of course, we should take an eye on tech-corporations, making sure that they do not violate our rights.