In many parts of the world, classical culture, such as traditional music, theatre, and literature, is losing popularity among young people. Why is this happening? What steps can be taken to encourage young people to appreciate classical culture?

Culture is the root of human identity. It is the priceless tradition handed down by our ancestors. Classical culture such as traditional music, theatre and literature is the face of a nation. However, as the world is progressing, classical culture is losing popularity among young people.

Westernisation and modernisation of cultures around the world are some of the key factors affecting its popularity. They erode the original identity of a culture. In today’s globalised world, as new fashion trends and dishes emerge, the youth view their own culture as outdated or old-fashioned. They find it embarrassing to reflect their culture in daily habits. As a result, they start disowning their culture just to fit in with society. They neglect the side that forms the true essence of their behaviour and personality. A clear example is seen in India where a vast majority of young people do not know about Mahabharat, despite it being one of the most significant epics.

To remedy the situation before it worsens, various steps can be taken. Using social media and presenting the culture as a heritage in the form of documentary or an engaging movie, we can encourage and inspire today’s youth to embrace it rather than ignoring it.

Loss of culture is a rising problem which should not be ignored but rather acted upon without any further delay. Digital media can contribute to this cause and thereby help in holding on to our heritage and roots.Teaching the youth their culture today will help to preserve it for tomorrow.