Some people think that teaching national history in school is the best way to help teenagers feel proud of their country. Others believe that helping the community through volunteer work is more helpful for building patriotism. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One school of thought holds that national history should be taught in school as it is the most effective way to encourage students to feel proud of their country, while others contend that doing voluntary work is more helpful for fostering patriotism. This essay will delve into both perspectives and explain why I lean towards the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some advocate that teenagers should learn national history at schools to feel proud of their nation. First and foremost, learning national history means learning about the historical events and wars which their country underwent in the past. By learning about the past, students may understand how difficult their ancestors had to deal with, hence they might reflect on their life as they are living in a peaceful society, fostering a sense of gratitude. Another benefit of learning history is one of the best ways to raise students’ awareness about their duties. Understanding the sacrifices of their ancestors can allow teenagers to take actions in order to contribute to society, trying to study hard to develop their country without losing the previous generations’ expectations.

My conviction is that doing voluntary work can enable students to build patriotism. In terms of practical values, supporting underprivileged individuals can let teenagers realise how lucky they are when comparing themselves with the people who need their help, which can lead to social cohesion. A prime example is that moving to mountainous areas to do voluntary work, students need to live in a place which lacks state-of-the-art-facilities and even necessary things like water or houses, raising their sympathy and tolerance with other people and their country. Beyond that, helping the community through volunteer work can enhance teenagers’ responsibility. Supporting other people since adolescents can mould a habit of lifelong civic engagement and proactive problem-solving. These early experiences hardwire the brain to see community issues as personal responsibilities rather than someone else’s problem. In the long run, these children might become well-informed citizens who are willing to take actions to protect and develop their nation.

In conclusion, although learning history can bring several advantages, I maintain that taking part in voluntary events is more effective because of its practical values in the long terms.