In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

The cosmetics industry is so developed nowadays, by using cosmetics people can make their noses look smaller, make their lips look bigger, or even lighten and whiten their skin. The main reason for using such products is the beauty standards made by society. A small nose, big lips, and light skin are just part of these standards. People always want to fit in society, people always want to be approved by others, so they try to fit those standards by changing their faces, and skin.

Using cosmetics, and lightening their skin is good if people just want to look different, and try new things, but these beauty standards harm the other part of the population. People who can’t afford these kinds of products, and people who were born with darker skin will always suffer because of the beauty standards. An increase in the products to lighten the skin strengthens beauty standards, and people who don’t fit them will be offended and it creates another type of inequality in society.

Another problem with lightening the skin is that these products are harmful to people’s health. And if a profitable market for these kinds of products grows, there will be alternative cheap products which will be not researched enough, and harm poor people who purchase them to whiten their skin. So increase in whitening products is harmful and unhealthy.

In conclusion, cosmetics and skin-lightening products help people to love themselves, and to be a better version of them but their actions should not be influenced by beauty standards and they should whiten their skin only with verified products.