In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In the contemporary society, the number of diverse types of cosmetic goods is increasing abruptly all over the world. However, some of them receive much attention for not standard reasons, for instance, skin bleaching products. Despite the gaining popularity, I personally believe that those are not only controversial but actually have a horrible impact on one’s body.

Initially, I would like to mention origin and possible causes for elaborating such products. In ancient times, individuals who came from affluent families in Europe didn’t have to work much physically, thus tended to have fair skin, in contrast to people from the middle class who did much physical labour to make a living and feed their families. In addition to the former reasons, we cannot neglect the fact that other races and ethnicities faced severe discrimination due to tan or black skin. On this basis, the conception of fair skinned people has been embedded in our minds for ages.I reckon that one reason could also be insecurities. Having access to the internet, children and teenagers are able to see advertisements related to whitewashing.

Nowadays, as science and cosmetic tendencies are developed fast, there is abundance of bleaching masks, creams and even procedures. But can these methods be certainly worth to be trusted?

In spite of enhancing former ways to lighten skin, they are still imperfect. Such products consists of strong acids, thus can lead to redness, irritation and dryness. For example, korean pop singers who use bleaching products on a regular basis were witnessed with acne and skin problems offstage.

In conclusion, chasing the ideal, we should not neglect the physiology and possible consequences of actions we often do mindlessly.