In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

In today’s world many countries have made a profitable market selling products that lighten people’s skin. Whereas Asian culture and popular idols around the world are the causes of this trend, weakened skin and the increasing beauty standard are the effects of this.

The insanely high beauty standards in the world is the major reason why people are inclined to buy these cosmetics. It is inarguable that the idols and Asian culture plays a vital role? in this trend. As an example, in Korean, and Japan, there are many idols that have light or white skin, who are adored by many fans.

This trend will also affect your health. Firstly, one of the effects is that it could harm your skin and slowly wears out your skin that will lead to a weaker immune system. It could even have a chance of getting illnesses and allergies that are able to lead to an early death. Secondly, another effect could be that whitening skin could lead to a higher beauty standard. That is due to the fact that they will see other people that are more good-looking than themself.

So in conclusion, The high beauty standard significantly influences the demand of lightening and whitening products. However, people need to understand the drawbacks from this trend, and it could affect society’s health.