In many societies, social media has become the primary source of news. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely debated whether access to data and real-time updates through online resources has positively affected on humanity or its contribution is harmful for consumers. In recent decades traditional sources of information were partly replaced by modern versions. This essay will examine both the benefits and drawbacks associated with this development.

The two major advantages of the substitution of television and newspapers for social media platforms are accessibility and real time updates. The first major point to consider is that online platforms made it more convenient to stay informed. Modern tools enable users to receive any information in a few minutes, while in the past it used to be time-consuming to buy a paper-based source or to wait for a relatable TV program. Another important point is that preparation of traditional media demanded time to record or print and people could miss important or urgent information. Nowadays digital platforms provide instant access to news and fast dissemination of content.

Despite all the positive sides, replacing of conventional media to social networking sites entails several negative aspects. One major disadvantage is that a data which is posted on the internet is not always veridical. For instance, plenty of users deliberately spread misleading information to manipulate public opinion or to earn money. Another key limitation is a harmful impact on mental and physical well-being of consumers. Individuals who spend much time scrolling social media are exposed to depression, lack of concentration and attention span. Moreover, excessive screen time also negatively impacts physical condition, mostly it causes problems with vision and spine.

In conclusion, utilizing of digital platforms to stay informed comprises both the merits and limitations. A balanced approach provides fast and easy access to data and news without harm, while excessive screen time entails several health problems.