In many societies, traditional arts and crafts are struggling to survive due to globalization and mass production. Some people believe that governments should subsidize these traditional art forms to preserve cultural heritage. Others argue that market forces should determine their fate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Shameful stealing or popularising traditional art?

A very controversional topic among artists and general people. Nowdays traditional artists face mass consumption problem, which mean that people dont cherish or respect their individual work. Furthermore giving preference to cheaper mass produced goods.

So is it a bad thing that arts and crafts became more accessible to everyone? Mass production allows more people to learn more about different art cultures. Some examples of it are Chinese fabric made pottery vases with traditional ornametns or even cheap souveniers in Ukrainian Carpathians Mountains. Small, cheap but accessible, gifting a person who bought it a smile. Especially youngsters, who find beauty in some ordinary rock or leaf. However companies tend to steal small artist’s work and sell it without giving a proper credit, which demotivates fragile soul nature or artists.

Secondly young creators dont have enough security nor support from the goverment. Sadly traditional art colleges and schools struggle with financial problems, leading young pupils to believe more that doing art wont keep them on float in adulthood. As a result many talented artist leave art industrie, just because there are no structions who help them flourish their skills.

To sum up in my opinion mass arts and crafts production is not necaserilly bad or good. The main problem here is that artists dont have enough support behind their backs to sell their art and create. I would say goverments should give more financial support to art schools and communities. Art should be populized, not stolen.