In marriage today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A high range of the population consider that both spouses should contribute to the living of the family. I totally agree with this opinion, as family needs the responsibility of both partners. Firstly, how financial independence may have a positive effect on marriage, and secondly, the impact of gender equality will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, economic freedom is a necessity in a new-emerging world. The money earned by two partners would improve living standards such as better residence, more convenient transportation, and a safer environment. People tend to allocate their earnings by dividing into shares. Double income would make it easier to allocate earning for necessities and set aside one part for savings. Spouses could reach their target in a faster way because each of them would be contributing to finance the family.

Secondly, the changing nature of men and women relations emerged a need for equal shares of contribution. There is an increasing trend of women involving in work life starting in 21st century especially considering the 2002 economic recession. Women are expected to earn and afford in similar amount as men do. The fostering of women’s power in society would contribute to gender equality. Developing working environments provide a floor for further equality in every industry. Moreover, an ongoing research by TUIK showed women had nearly tripled their share in in job applications in last two decades.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that the equal responsibility of spouses would benefit the general family lifestyle and the development of society.