In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a considerable debate whether both partners in marriage should take a responsibility of household expenses. However, I strongly content that both spouses have to generate income equally for several reasons.

The primary reason why I hold this view is that the dual-income families are enable to provide essential requirements for a standard living. I other words, when a married couple have stable source of income, they usually have greater access to health care services, quality education, and a higher standard of living. Otherwise, in case, a single person works to contribute financially to a family, they bear the entire financial burden which leads to difficulties in affording everything they need. For instance, according to statistics, equal partnership plays a crucial role in happy marriage.

On the other hand, equal responsibilities between wife and husband curtail the authority of one partner and reduce economic stress. Family members often argue with each another because the person who meets all the household’s financial needs may want to take control of family decisions. Moreover, they tend to restrict rights of the other spouse which ruins harmony in majority of relationships. Sometimes, these conflicts may result in domestic violence and the abuse of women and children. That is why it is very significant to be financially independence and to put in equal effort to earn a living. A notable example of this idea is that a lot of research show that families with mutual support are less likely to get divorced.

To sum up, with the help of both sides, families are not only to ensure better quality of life but also contributes to maintain a strong marriage.