In more and more countries, people give money on special occasions rather than personally giving gifts. Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In many countries, there is an increasing preference for giving money rather than personal gifts on special events. There are several reasons for this trend, and while it has both positive and negative sides, I believe it is mostly a positive development.

One major reason behind this trend is that giving money is more practical and sensible. When buying gifts, the individual may not know the receiver’s clothing size, what they like or need. In this case, giving them money and allowing them to choose something for their own preferences makes more sense. Additionally, with the rush of modern life, people may not have the time to carefully pick out a gift. For example, when it was my cousin’s birthday, my family and I were too busy and we could not pick out a present for her. So, we decided to give her money, and this made both sides happy-she got the opportunity to buy herself something she really likes, and it was very convenient for us.

On the other hand, some people may believe that giving money is thoughtless and a careless move. The person receiving the gift might feel that the giver did not make any effort or put thought into the gift, and chose money as it is easier. This can be especially upsetting if the person receiving is someone who really values meaningful presents. Consequently, sometimes buying something small but really putting effort into it might be more valuable for someone rather than receiving money.

In conclusion, although some people might view this as a thoughtless gesture, I believe that giving money is an excellent gift, especially if you do not know the person very much.