In more and more countries, people give money on special occasions rather than personally giving gifts. Why might this be the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In an increasing number of countries, individuals prefer giving money on notable dates rather than giving presents. The situation is mainly due to the unfamiliarity with the person’s liking and the significance of presenting the proper gift. From my perspective, the trend ruins the surprise that was once held, consequently undermining the necessity of the tradition.

From one perspective, money seems like the perfect gift for every single individual. In today’s world, when an array of items is available, selecting the correct item gets progressively harder. Additionally, acquaintances may be unfamiliar with the person thus having a lack of data regarding their pursuits. This way, people are able to make any purchases of interest within their budget and eliminate any awkward moments during the gift presentation. Moreover, funds gifted can be utilized to save up for a bigger purchase, that would be unsuitable and financially demanding for a person to give.

From another perspective, giving gifts has been a substantial part of one’s celebration for many decades. Gifting objects personally, is perceived as a sign of importance and a bond between two sides. Furthermore, for the vast majority of people material value of an item is not as important as its true meaning. Removing the custom will decrease the overall significance of celebrations, thus discouraging the strengthened connections created between people.

In conclusion, in the current world the fear of giving wrong presents is widely spread. Hence, giving money has gotten popular over the years. The trend is mainly disadvantageous as the cultural impact celebrations had is no longer relevant.