In most parts of the world, cities are becoming larger because people are moving there from the countryside Describe the advantages and disadvantages of living in cities
It is undeniable that increasing number of people are flooding into urban areas to reside over
the past few decades. In my opinion, there are both advantages and disadvantages of inhabiting
in cities.
On the one hand, living in urban areas can be beneficial due to several reasons. First and
foremost, the cities have better infrastructure and amenities.To elaborate, urbanized
places offer people a higher quality services such as cutting-edge technologies, healthcare, higher education and transportation systems such as buses, coaches and trains, making
travelling and commuting much easier than that of suburbia. Furthermore, availability of wider
range of industries in cities makes it easier for the dwellers to find well-paid and secure jobs. For instance, in suburbian areas, individulas can be employed with mostly agriculture-relating
jobs, which are limited and not safe, as human kinds can be engaged in these jobs
primarily in summer and a high profit is not guaranteed. However, having variety of factories or
other industrial places, people can apply for the jobs in their interest which offers a high salary
for their workers.
On the other hand, living in cities comes with its own drawbacks as well. Initially, city dwellers
are often reported to suffer from an intense traffic problems, spending hours on a road waiting
in traffic congestions . That said the more people come to live in cities, the more number of
vehicles will come as well, resulting in excessive quantity of cars in roads, which, in a respective
turn, makes it harder to move throughout the city. Also, having a great many number of
transports and factories, indeed leads to the second negative effect of residing such locations- suffering from an air pollution. To elaborate, when the number of industrial buildings and
transports sees an increase, the percentage of carbon and exhausted fumes(gas emitted by
cars) will be increased, causing several serious issues like greenhouse effect and air pollution. This, by turn, drives humans to have unhealthy life, like suffering from the lung cancer, the
illness causes by having an excessive amount of CO2(carbon dioxide) or CO(carbon monoxide), inside of the lungs.
In conclusion, despite having some positivities, like better quality for living, dwelling in urbanized places has got its own
negativies, such as pollution and traffic issues.