In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that in order to success in sports an individual should have a set of different skills and abilities. While some people argue that being physically strong is the predominant factor in achieving success in sports field, others believe that being mentally strong is way more important. This essay will discuss both of these points of view and argue in favour of the former.

One the one hand, any existing type of sport requires physical strength. This factor refers to not only how much weight you can pull but also to an endurance, coordination and resilience to injury. This biological base gives athletes a huge advantage over those who lack it. A clear illustration of this is top-tier football players like Lionel Messi or Christiano Ronaldo that started excelling since early ages due to the innate strength and explosive power.

On the other hand, there are many scenarios when mental strength can become a deciding factor for winning. When it comes to competing in a very important event where pressure from a crowd and coaches is inescapable, or starting all over again after losing, mental well-being and discipline is what makes athletes able to attain heights. For example, having been labeled as a future Olympic champion in figure skating beforehand, Illia Malinin has collapsed under pressure during olympiad and eventually has given his gold to his opponent Mikhail Shaidorov who happened to be prepared and capable of coping with stress.

In conclusion, mental strength can be a key factor in some cases, however is easy to aquire by constant practice and experience. Physical abilities are much harder to train and are more natural, which is why I believe them to be of more importance in order to become successful in sports.