In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A multitude of individuals opine that physical strength is required in order to succeed in sports. Others, however, argue that mental strength receives greater importance. Despite both views hold merit, I strongly believe that both physical and mental strengths contribute to success in sport.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many people support the view that only by improving physical strength can some individuals succeed in sport. First and foremost, exercising on a regular basis brings about beneficial impacts as it not only enhances our immune and muscular system but also elevates our flexibility. As a result, people tend to be familiar with any physical activities and exhibit a higher level of performance when playing sports. For example, athletes who participate in Olympics tournaments need to follow a strict training schedule with complicated exercises which are assigned by their trainers in order to be rigid and effectively respond in any circumstances, thereby securing the possibility of winning their games. Otherwise, their performance may get worse to a lower level due to inactiveness. Therefore, physical health is considered as one of the most decisive factors in any success in sporting activities.

On the other hand, developing a stable mental strength also brings about several noticeable benefits. Maintaining a comfortable and decent mental health helps people gain motivation and determination to achieve proper success in sport, which enables people to try their utmost in achieving success. In addition, when encountering mental issues, a person may experience moments of tiredness which severely affect their way of exercising. Furthermore, it is believed that consciousness drives individuals to perform wisely using their abilities, mentally focused individuals may develop critical thinking in applying unique techniques while playing and thus produce better performance. To specify, well-known tennis player Rafael Nadal who used to participate in a multitude of tennis competitions and placed first rank; however, he was heavily confused by the spectacular playing style of his opponent Andy Murray which later affected his thinking and eventually placed second in the US tournament in 2006. This is one of several typical examples explaining why people should also consider improving their mental strength to be successful in sports.

In conclusion, while people are polarized on whether we should prioritize physical strength or mental strength, it is of my concrete belief that there should be a balance between these two since both of them benefit any sport player with several advantages.