In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is not enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Nowadays, people commit felonies due to lack of supplies needed for survival and the minimal access to proper education. The government, in turn, implements a solution to deploy more police to stop ongoing or upcoming threats, leading the people to be imprisoned. This means that if the unlucky people mentioned above do not have any choice and decide to commit unacceptable actions, they would be imprisoned for trying to survive. I completely agree that it is the causes such as minimal life support and education that should be solved, not mobilizing more law enforcement officers. In this essay, I will thoroughly explain why.

Some people, including the government, say that placing more of these officers would help decrease the amount of crime. As a result, there would be less criminals freely roaming, wiping away the worry from people around. This is how most people think. However, in my opinion, this is not the right approach. People become criminals due to the problems which have remained unsolved by the government, notably the diminished availability of basic human needs and acquiring knowledge, which still lacks attention. This is because when people face this problem, they tend to find more possible ways to survive, in which stealing is one of them.

Another reason is that undereducated individuals lack teaching in terms of ethics, morals, and rules. This means that they would be blinded with the risks and side effects of committing lawbreaking activities. Therefore, the cycle would continuously go on, as more and more populations experience similar fate.

In conclusion, I can confidently say that finding solutions for the currently occurring problems such as deprived resources and lower chances to learn is better than the currently proposed solution by the government. This way, a long-term effect can be clearly seen.