In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Nowadays, cars number is increasing rapidly due to the increase of the population around the world. As the number of cars increases, the traffic in many cities is increasing also. One solution to reduce traffic problems is to have a tax on the individual’s cars to improve the public transport using this money. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this solution.

To begin with, The tax on the private cars will effect the environment positively. To illustrate, the cars are producing carbon dioxide which increases the ozone layer hole and reduce the quality of air. Moreover, it will eliminate the health problems related the air pollution. For example, in Cairo, you can see the smoke similar to fog due to the carbon dioxide emitted from cars there. In addition t, if each car is producing one unit of carbon dioxide, so reducing one hundred cars will result in decreasing the carbon dioxide 100 times also.

On the other hand, applying tax will have a bad effect on limited income people.those people will suffer from finding money to cover their daily needs which will cause frustration and depression. For instance, expats in many countries such as Canada are thinking seriously about leaving Canada because of these taxes.

In conclusion, although the tax will benefit the environment and save our planet from the bad effect of the ozone layer whole, it will also make the poor people suffering from the extra charges. Government should have a strict taxes on the private cars and improve the infrastructure of the public transport. But, poor people cars should have a tax-free cards.