In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Nowadays, in urban areas, traffic jams are a major problem. The government should impose a heavy tax on car owners and use the money to build and support public transportation. Although there are arguments on both sides, I firmly believe that enacting this idea into a legal policy is the most appropriate way of action.

On one hand, opponents argue against it for several reasons. First, apparently, the policy to charge heavily is not fair for low-income citizens, and as a result, it will bring financial burdens. Moreover, how much amount of money will be charged for every city, every region, or every district? It is not clear. Another related case is the frequency of car usage; if the government applies the same charge fees for different usage, it will lead to an unfair system. Additionally, in the long term, if the tax is applied, it would possibly drive many companies that produce and sell automobiles out of business.

On the other hand, we know that traffic problems are a knock-on effect and lead to multiple drawbacks. First and a notable one is reducing the productivity. Most workers are often stuck in the middle of the road when they are on the way to work, and of course, they waste a lot of time. Second, traffic jams pose a serious problem to the environment. For hours, the car spends time on the road, which means that the machine stays on and then generates pollution. Consequently, climate change will be influenced, and also the health of the residents will be affected. So, to reduce these detrimental effects, putting a considerable tax on car owners will be an excellent action. Besides, the money will be used to develop transport infrastructure and maintain those facilities.

To sum up, imposing a heavy tax to reduce the usage of cars is indispensable. In the long term, I strongly believe it will succeed. The government should promptly enact it, and the citizens, as well as being educated to accept it.