In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Car traffic is of increasingly concern for several governments which should therefore evaluate the possibility of heavy taxation for automobile owners in favour to more efficient public transportation. Such a choice could lead to some relevant benefits as reducing private vehicles use would in turn reduce air pollution, even though a stronger taxation fot those unable to move in a different way could result unbearable.

Discouraging citizens from using cars would be very beneficial both for urban infrastractures and environment. Fewer vehicles mean in fact less amount of gas emissions, which are currently significantly impacting on the air quality of many big cities all around the world. As recent research report, if only 10% of people decided not to use their cars to go to work pollution rates would improve by approximately 30%. However more and more employees linving in the countryside are forced to reach their workplaces by car due to long distances, as the job offer is higher in big cities. To those people stronger economical measures on owing private cars could therefore result financially unsustainable. In different suburban areas of Rome, citizens have in fact clearly stated their position in response to the Italian government’s proposal of taxing private transportation by protesting in front of the Parlamental Hall.In conclusion car traffic is a relevant problem for many government and trying to reduce it could resolve environmental issues as well, even if it could be disadvantageous for some individuals who cannot renounce on their cars.