In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

In order to give a solution to traffic challenges, people in power should increase the levy fee of private car users and direct the funds into advancement of public transportation systems. While this is it so many advantages to all individuals, it also has some limitations which will be discussed below.

First of all, increasing the levy fee of private car users will increase the cost of car purchase and its maintenance. In addition, certain individual might not be financially buoyant to afford expensive vehicles which will lead to reduction in numbers of private vehicles on the road on a daily basis. Furthermore, the level of traffic jam occurrence will be reduced. The fund raised from this can be incurred into improving public transport system. For example, high rate in cost of vehicles will reduce the number of private car businesses on transits.

On the other hand, this will negatively affect potential private businesses who might not be financially capable of purchasing expensive vehicles. Increase in car purchase will lead to hike in prices of private transport system which in turn increases the cost of living of individuals. In addition, this can bring about social pressure among individuals as it serves as a measure of differentiating between individual financial status. However , providing this solution for traffic jam without considering the conditions of road system will prove abortive.

In conclusion, increasing the levy fee of private cars users and directing the funds to public transportation are of great advantages in solving traffic challenges, however , private businesses will be greatly affected, cost of living will be high and societal pressure will be greatly affected.