In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

In this contemporary society, traffic issues are increasing day by day in major cities around the world. To solve this problem, many people believe that taxation rate on new cars should be increased and government should use money come from taxation to upgrade the public transport system. Hence, this essay will discuss about benefits and drawbacks of this solution to address the traffic problems.

First and foremost, higher taxation on purchasing new cars could reduce the number people who own private cars. This could lead to a reduction in traffic jams in urban areas. In addition, travel time to different locations will be reduced due to decreasing traffic. Furthermore, government can receive more income from higher taxation; hence, government can invest more money in constructing new infrastructure for public transportation. As a result, many individuals can have easy access to advanced transportation networks like fast train networks, and this could help to reduce traffic issues.

On the other hand, there are several disadvantages in increasing government tax on new car owners. For example, demand for public transport will be very high due to an increase in the number of individuals who do not own cars. Therefore, overcrowded cases in bus stops and train stations will be happened, and this would lead to several problems for people in daily basis. Besides, people could face with problems in emergency cases because they must wait long time for scheduled buses and trains.

In conclusion, many people will gain a wide range of benefits from increasing tax rate on new cars such as a reduction in traffic jams and high chance to access better public transport facilities. However, there are many problems with higher taxation matter, and this can have a negative impact on peoples’ lifestyles and their daily routines.