IN RECENT YEARS, MANY GOVERNMENTS HAVE BROUGHT IN LAWS TO BAN SMOKING IN PUBLIC PLACES, SUCH AS BARS, RESTAURANTS, AND OFFICES TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE

These days, many punishments have been imposed by the authorities to prevent smoking in some public buildings such as hospitals and schools. In my perspective, I partly agree with this statement. In this essay, I will support my view with several reasons and examples.

On the one hand, there are some advantages of banning smoking in the community. Firstly, smoking can lead to lung cancer deaths, especially if it does not affect only the smoker themselves but also other people around them. The thing is, it releases toxic chemicals into the air, which turns non-smokers into victims. For instance, if someone smokes in the library, many people around them will be annoyed by this disgusting smell. In other words, smoking can be a distraction for people who are really interested in studying in public areas.

On the other hand, it is also believed that there are some disadvantages. One problem is that the ban is an infringement of people’s freedom and rights. This is because the government should not control one’s personal behavior. Moreover, the ban caused many bars to go bankrupt. By restricting smoking inside the bars, they cannot sell as much as before. Due to the customers having to go out to smoke, they will not stay as long as they would feel uncomfortable and need to find a new place where they can sit, smoke, drink, and eat without interruption.

To sum up, smoking increases health risks, and I believe that it should be banned in public places to reduce the number of deaths and disease infections. However, we must ensure that it does not affect small businesses like bars and restaurants because of the restrictions becoming too strict.