In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping is an inevitable part of human existence. We either shop for groceries, clothes, electronics or other household items. In contemporary times, there has been a fold up of a number of small local shops due to the preference of clients to shop at mall since it offers a variety of shops. In this essay, I will argue that, this trend is both affirmative and negative.

The emergence of big shopping centers is a positive development in the sense that, it renders a one-stop-shop and convenience to people whose schedules are taut. These people tend so save a lot of time and energy which they would have spend hoping from one shop to the other in a scorching heat. The expediency of having a place to park your car, shop for variety of items in air conditioned buildings, and the availability of restrooms makes shopping pleasing.

On the contrary, the closure of small local stops which deal in artifacts that portrays the culture and traditions of the local community dies out. Artifacts and traditions items such as clothes, slipper, beads when branded and sold in the malls are very expensive and often not of the same quality as those in the local market, but is preferred because one may not have the luxury to go searching for these items in the small shops. This causes financial distress on the community because people’s livelihood depends on the incomes generated from operating this business.

Conclusively, the closure of numerous small local shops due to the convenience people derived in purchasing goods and supplies from larger shops has its benefits and drawbacks. Although various range of products and brands are available in the malls, the closing down of small shops results in loss of culture and tradition and also economic hardship.