In recent years, more and more people are chosing to read e-books rathen than paper books. Do the advantages outweight disadvantages

It is undeniable that books which are regarded as an integral part of human civilization, functioning as portals to knowledge, imagination, along with inspiration, serves as a power to educate and engage readers in diverse ways. Over the past few decades, there has been a sharp increase in the number of people who tend to prefer to read digital books in comparison to paper ones owing to certain factors. Although some people may encounter challenges while using online books and concern about its dire consequences, the advantageous aspect of this, such as portability, environmentally friendly, in addition to both affordability and compactness overshadow its negative sides.

To start with, utilizing electronic books lies with several benefits, the primary one of which would be portability. To elaborate further, carrying thousands of books in one gadget can give a helping hand for people to eliminate holding multiple heavy books around, simplifying on-the-go reading. Being environmentally friendly would be another strong point that makes online books more convenient. To clarify, using e-books, in all likelihood would diminish the demand for paper,meaning that should conventional books happen to be substituted by digital ones, there is a high plausibility that the level of deforestation would be decreased as in the modern context it is ubiquitous to observe that a significant number of trees are being cut for paper production. Thus, not only can e-books give an opportunity for humans to have acces in their well-loved books anytime and anywhere, without the need for transferring them, but also it is a valid approach to prevent degradation of forests.

Further and more importantly, the affordability of such kind of books, in the majority of cases, makes people start using them. To be more precise, ebooks are frequently considered to be more cost-effective than printed books owing to the fact that it is a valid approach for readers to save money on purchasing other things. For instance, rather than buying traditional books for quite expensive price, they can apply books on their technological gadgets for free.Besides, as we know online books posses space-saving feature, which, in turn, removes the demand for physical shelf place. To look at it from a different angle, digital books allows readers to store a vast library of books in virtual space, including either tablets or smartphones, without the constraints of storages to accommodate a large collection of paper books, enabling to carry entire library in a pocket-sized device.Therefore, these books can be both reasonable to purchase and spatially economical to store.

That being said, while electronic books offer a range of merits, they also pose certain demerits, the initial one of which could be a negative influence on our well being. To illustrate, spending a considerable amount of time by reading virtual books in front of the screen, which emitts blue light, can lead to eye strain and fatigue. Apart from it, screen exposure before going to bed may disrupt sleeping patterns. Another common drawback that is not worth than previous one would be distractions. To be clear, while using online books, there is a high plausibility that people may be easily disrupted by notifications from different social platforms, which make people turn from reading to chatting with their friends, ending up doing nothing.

Having taken all the highlighted aspects above into consideration, I concluded that even though there are several downsides of digital books, still its positive sides, such as convenience, eco-friendlines, cost-saving feature, accompanied by compactness, predominate its flaw. Personally, I would highly recommend for all people around the world to start utilizing electronic books as it is much more comfortable that conventional ones.