In recent years, more and more people are chosing to read e-books rathen than paper books. Do the advantages outweight disadvantages

In the last few years, people have preferred to read e-books rather than paper books. While it is true to say that e-books have many benefits, such as costing less and being straightforward to use, they actually have many drawbacks tightly linked with health which can outweigh the advantages.

Over time, people are choosing to read e-books over regular books, since e-books are cheaper and they can be the quickest way to acquire something in a short duration of time. For instance, e-books have many functions, such as highlighting vital information or being able to listen to a story or text; by having many useful possibilities popularity of e-books gradually increases among people. Moreover, e-books can be purchased for a significantly lower price compared to regular books, and e-books cannot be stolen or damaged.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of using e-books connected with health, time, and getting distracted. Particularly, if people find e-books interesting, they will be possessed by them, making them spend plenty of time only reading and not doing anything else except reading. In addition, the screens of these devices emit blue light, which can cause eye fatigue and eye strain. What is more, prolonged exposure to digital screens may lead to symptoms like dry eyes, blurred vision, and headaches. Furthermore, it will be more effortless for people to get distracted by any notification while using an e-book, which can lead them to lose track and slip their minds that they were reading.

To conclude, although there are many benefits, they cannot outweigh the disadvantages, since most of the drawbacks are linked with people’s daily lives and their health.