In recent years, there has been a sharp increase in the number of obese young people. Identify some of the reasons why young people are becoming overweight and suggest what could be done to address this problem.

Nowadays, the changes in lifestyle and eating behavior lead a lot of teenagers to become overweight, and there are some problems that cause obesity in young people. The following paragraphs are going to examine the reasons of those issues and the way to solve it.

To begin with poor eating habits that has a huge effect on teenager so much. To demonstrate, when junk food and soft drinks are popular in these day —because their price is lower than some healthy food and the taste is enjoyable— young people who can easily be affected, tend to buy junk food instead of healthy food which is full of nutrients. In addition, unhealthy food is high in sodium, fats and carbohydrates. In the same way, soft drinks are also high in sugar. Due to these macronutrients, those two things cause too many calories more than necessary and can lead the teen to become overweight. So, to solve this problem, the government and schools should have the policy about standard nutrient in every restaurant. For example, the policy about sugar tax or promote campaigns about healthy food and proper nutrition to elevate the awareness of improper eating behaviors.

Not only bad eating habits but also the changes in lifestyle that can lead to obesity in adolescents. The technology in these day have improved a lot, and the online platforms also have a huge effective on teenagers. When teen become addicted to their devices —to play online games or social media— now their physical activity is not enough. Moreover, teenagers usually go to bed late which makes stress hormones secreted, and the ability to handle stress from education is low. For this reason, adolescents crave for more food, and easily get overweight. To provide this, schools and parents have to help teenagers to have more creative activities that help them reduce stress and look after them to have enough sleep.

In conclusion, young people becoming overweight is a huge problem nowadays, because the improper eating habits, which are from the way teens choose to eat less nutritious food. Also, the changes of lifestyle that teenagers don’t exercise and go to sleep late. This leads them to stress and overeating. To deal with this, we have to support teens in becoming more aware about importance of nutrients by holding campaigns or have a sugar tax, and also support them to do other activities than stick on social media.