In recent years, there has been a significant advancement in AI and automation technologies. Some argue that these technologies will lead to widespread job displacement. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

The revolution of AI and automation technologies draws parallels with the Luddites 200 years ago, when factory workers protested after being substituted by machinery. Undoubtedly, such advancement prompts concerns of displacement in workers of varying jobs. In my opinion, although many occupations are likely to be obsolete, people do not have to be afraid of being unemployed.

To commence, it is inevitable for some occupations to be functioned by automatic technologies. Firstly, this technological shift in the job creation stems from the ability of such machines to supersede human capacities in tasks requiring accuracy. For instance, AI-enabled machines, tapping into huge datasets, can interpret scans, making diagnosis quicker and more precise than that made by humans with the probability of mistakes. Moreover, such superintelligence can outperform their human counterpart in productivity. Given that such tools are operated by electricity and therefore never run the risk of being exhausted, not only can they relentlessly generate outcomes with consistent quality, they can also work under extreme conditions that humans can not bear.

However, the scenario where the labour force is dominated by smart machines and artificial intelligence is not likely to happen as more jobs are generated for human employees. Additional occupations include operators to function such machines and fix them promptly. As a result, more engineers and tech scientists may be in demand to operate and keep developing such machines. Other jobs that are more valued in the future due to the proliferation of autonomy are those involving human feelings. Sport audiences are more keen on spectating flawed athletes overcoming their shortcomings to achieve victory rather than machines with perfect techniques.

In conclusion, technology with its capabilities does not pose a threat to the human labour force, it only changes it, veering humans to tasks demanding sentiments and creativity. Therefore, instead of envisaging a dystopia where most humans are displaced by smart technology that functions itself, people should focus on tapping into its potential, benefiting their quality of life.