In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

It is believed that females are selecting arts and males are selecting science in education. The cause behind this phenomenon is a gender stereotyping. In my opinion it is a negative development because it away a freedom of selecting career.

The prime reason is gender stereotyping because of their generalized view or preconception about their education. It is happening by a possession of fixed field as they see what other people of their related gender has been selecting a field like Science or Arts. They are used to the environment in which a specific gender selecting specific sector so when they have to pick their career path, they choose the same what they have seen in their communities. For instance, A survey took by local government of Mumbai city proves that a possession to become actors are increased by double than past years as other sectors facing shortage.

In my opinion this development takes away the freedom of individuals as it limits their personal and professional ability to pursue their favorite field. In result, all the competition are done in a sector. It occurs more adversities for individuals as they are not in the field in which they interested. Thus, it prevents the growth of the countries as the other fields are facing inadequate employees.

To illustrate, nowadays many people choose their career forcefully due to burden of the society and leave unfinished.

To conclude, it is inappropriate approach that males and females are selecting career respectively science and arts by stereotype as it stops encouraging their skills and abilities also snatch freedom of picking career.