In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

In certain parts of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which minors are not allowed to be out doors after a particular time at night except they are accompanied by an adult. In my opinion this is a good development, teenagers shouldn’t be allowed to roam outside late at night, especially when there are no adults in sight.

To begin with, we know when kids get to a certain age, especially adolescents. They want to start engaging in different vices, which are not morally upright. And what better ways to accomplish this if not late at night. Teens can be pressured by peers to go out. For instance, clubbing, taking hard substances, and even mugging people. With an adult constant watch, especially accompanying them at night. this will help them make right decisions.

Lastly, the curfew will help reduce some crime rate associated with teenagers, parents get to know where their kids are going to by accompanying them. They are not at the risk of being kidnaped especially when an adult is present. For example, while I was growing up, once it is 7pm I am not allowed to go out of the house, all errands that requires going out is suspended till the following day.

To sum it up, this is a great initiative for those areas in the US, partaking in the curfew and I will like to suggest more locations does the same thing, in order to curtail and limit late night movements by underage kids.