In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Protection of teenagers has become a going concern, especially in certain areas of the US. This has led to enforcement of certain restrictions, such as curfews which restrict outdoor activities for teenagers when they are not being escorted by an adult. This has led to a debate if such restrictions are necessary or not. However, I believe these restrictions are important to protect teens.

In my opinion, the curfews are necessary as there has been an increase in insecurity across some regions of the US, such as kidnappings. A popular newspaper called “The Watch” reported about 14 attempted kidnapping in the state of Arizona, and 11 we are successful, but 3 failed. These kidnappings occurred between 9:00p.m-10:00 p.m. especially along deserted streets. The 11 successful kidnapping involved lonely teenagers, while the three failed ones occurred when the teenager was with at least an adult irrespective of the gender.

In addition, there has been a rise in accident levels across major roads in Boston due to a decrease in compliance to traffic laws by drivers. This has been blamed on late night alcohol consumption among drivers. However, in recent weeks the Telegraph newspaper reported an increase in the number of people “hit and run” cases especially after 8:00 p.m, and most of the victims have been teenagers this is because they failed to recognize the signs of reckless driving early on, and this predisposes them to fatal accidents. It further stated the need for guardians to protect these young ones, especially after 6:00 p.m.

In conclusion, curfews on outdoor teenage activities may be quite inconveniencing, but it is necessary for their protection.