In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

In the modern world, a ‘curfew’ is imposed in some parts of the United States, and it does not allow youngsters to be outdoors without an adult at a specific time. I believe that a curfew is really essential for public order.

Firstly, I think that a curfew helps the government to maintain safety in society. In other words, a curfew helps to lower the level of criminality because most crimes happen at night, and criminals often attack people who are weaker than them, so there is a high risk of robbery among teenagers. For example, according to research that was done in 2025, the major part of all victims are people under 18. That is why a curfew may guarantee a higher level of security.

Furthermore, a curfew could reduce minor offenses such as vandalism. That is to say, vandalism is very popular among teenagers, and they usually commit it when nobody can see them, namely at night. For instance, vandals that were caught by the police said that the most part of their community are teenagers, which explains the importance of curfew hours.

Finally, kidnapping is one of the serious problems that frequently occurs among teenagers. It often happens at night and in places where there is no adult supervision; in addition, teenagers are more trusting and easier to influence. Based on police data, more than half of missing person reports were made by parents whose teenage children were kidnapped at night.

Taking everything into consideration, I would say that a curfew in the contemporary world plays an important role in the safety of youth. A curfew could decrease the number of accidents remarkably.